His Design

I met the neatest young lady this weekend. She’s a senior in college praying about her future. She works at my church and is earnestly praying about where God would send her next. I was so moved by her willingness to go wherever the Lord would lead her. You see, she grew up in the area only moving once in her life. And she attended a college close to home. She’s never left the area except for mission’s trips but is curious to see where she should go next.

I think the thing that struck me the most about this young lady was that she wasn’t at all interested in her desires. Generally, girls her age are thinking about marriage, careers and children; but not this girl. She was only interested in where God would lead her. She has been on a couple of missions trips to Egypt and “fell in love” with the people and the culture. Instead of praying for God to send her there, she said she just wants to get out of God’s way so He can lead. As much as she would love to return to Egypt as a missionary of some sort, she doesn’t want her desire to override God’s. Is that cool or what?

After listening to her talk about her deepest desire, I realized she is someone in love with Jesus. She loves Him enough to put aside her earthly desires to follow His lead. She doesn’t have a picture of what her life should look like from her perspective. She only sees the picture drawn by God’s hand. It was so inspiring to hear her talk. I was privileged to share my story of moving away from the life I knew so God could make His way into my life. It was amazing.

This young lady has her whole life in front of her. She has a blank canvas on which the Lord will begin His masterpiece. I love that she is willing, at her age to allow her plans to be pushed aside to make room for God’s design for her life. I want to have that kind of dedication when I grow upJ

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jer. 29:11 NIV)

4 thoughts on “His Design

Leave a Reply

