O The Deep, Deep Love of Jesus!

Photo from Freepixels.com

I’ve been thinking about this post since Saturday night. We attended church and as usual our worship team did a wonderful job. We were transported to the throne of grace praising our Savior. It was wonderful until…we came to the last song, O
The Deep, Deep Love of Jesus. It’s a lovely hymn I’ve sung for years but for the last verse the music became very loud. I understand they do this on purpose for effect, but for me it was distracting. You see, I couldn’t hear the words. I could see them on the screen but I could not hear them. When I worship, I sometimes like to close my eyes so my focus will stay on the Lord. I couldn’t do that because all I heard were the instruments. Without the words, the music didn’t make sense to me. Something was missing.

I’ve thought about this so much this week simply because I feel like that in my own life. I have so many obligations especially now that school has started. With three children, all having different schedules, it makes it difficult to keep pace. And I find I’m often struggling to get through the day remembering where I’m supposed to be or what I’m supposed to do. My calendar is my best friend. Distractions can keep me from hearing the words God has for me. My busyness occupies my mind and my heart can’t hear.

There are other times I become distracted by the good intentions of others. My deepest desire is to do God’s will. I want to follow Him. I want to consult Him. I want the Lord to be Lord over my choices and decisions. And so, I go to Him daily seeking His counsel. The problem comes when I can’t wait for His answer. I become impatient and seek the advice of those around me. I wonder if God sent those people into my life to speak for Him. It’s not wrong to ask. It’s possible God has sent them. But sometimes I find I am so overwhelmed by what others tell me, my heart is numb to the voice of God.

Knowing God in an intimate way means hearing His voice. I think I was reminded this week to stay focused. The enemy tries so hard to distract us, even with good things. I heard a speaker say “The devil tempts us in our strengths because that is where we are prideful”. I have to agree with that statement. When I’m keeping up with the demands of life, I feel pretty good about my abilities. I don’t need God’s strength; I can do it on my own. And when those around me agree with me, I feel pretty special about that. The question is; am I trying to please men or God?

The strongest message the Lord has for us is His love. He tells us all the time. Sometimes it comes in the sweet kiss from our children or in a hug from a friend. Other times it comes in a song written by someone who felt so loved by Jesus, he had to write the words down. O The Deep, Deep love of Jesus!!!

“O the deep, deep love of Jesus, vast, unmeasured, boundless, free!
Rolling as a mighty ocean in its fullness over me!
Underneath me, all around me, is the current of Thy love
Leading onward, leading homeward to Thy glorious rest above!

O the deep, deep love of Jesus, spread His praise from shore to shore!
How He loveth, ever loveth, changeth never, nevermore!
How He watches o’er His loved ones, died to call them all His own;
How for them He intercedeth, watcheth o’er them from the throne!

O the deep, deep love of Jesus, love of every love the best!
‘Tis an ocean full of blessing, ’tis a haven giving rest!
O the deep, deep love of Jesus, ’tis a heaven of heavens to me;
And it lifts me up to glory, for it lifts me up to Thee!”

Samuel Trevor Francis

Leave a Reply

