He is Your God

My Young Man

Well, I’m here. I am the Mom of a high schooler. I’m not sure how I feel about that. I looked at him as he grabbed his backpack out of the back of the van today and thought to myself; how time flies! I can’t believe he is only four years away from college. As I looked at his face, I remember the little boy who stole my heart from the first day I saw him. He was the child we prayed for. We waited patiently on the Lord for this child and God blessed. It seems like yesterday he was riding his little bike on the sidewalk and building with his blocks. The days of him sitting on my lap as we read together are long gone. Although, when I read out loud to his siblings, he still sits and listens.

I had a talk with my young man the other day. He’s been on restriction all summer and now that summer is over, he was asking for his restriction to be lifted. I agreed and we talked about the upcoming year. We talked about wiping the slate clean. It was a new school year with no mistakes. I explained I would not hold his past offences against him however, (there’s always a however) if he chose to repeat is former ways, the punishment would be stronger this time. He agreed. I told him what was expected of him. And I told him the next four years were going to be fun and exciting. I reminded him about his character and the importance of doing the right thing even when no one is looking. I finished with the affirmation that I knew it was going to be a good year and that I was excited for him.

So today, I came home, did my Bible study and opened to these words. “He is your praise; he is your God, who performed for you those great and awesome wonders you saw with your own eyes. (Deut. 10:21 NIV) I pondered them for a long time. You see, these are the words I pray for my son (and the twins). Oh maybe I don’t say them word for word but the meaning is the same. I pray daily for my son to have a passion for the Lord. I ask for heart knowledge. I pray he will honor and obey the Lord. And I pray that the Lord would reveal Himself to my young man and that he would have the discernment to see God’s hand in his life. I pray those things because I love my kids and want what’s best for them. Don’t we all want this for our children?

I think the Lord gave me this as an affirmation to stay strong and keep praying. Parenting isn’t easy. Sometimes I feel as though I’m one step behind. But my God is faithful!! He will do a work in each of their lives. Someday, when they are grown, I will look at my children and say “He is your praise; he is your God”. Amen!

2 thoughts on “He is Your God

  1. Pam C says:

    Lori- Your post today was so near and dear to my heart. I have been in prayer all day for my sons too. I have a strong sense that the next four years are going to speed past us! A thought that keeps rattling around in my head is that I need to be intentional with the words I speak to my man-child. Over the next four years I am committed to speaking life and blessings over him and my younger son. They will carry what we say to them inside their hearts as they leave for college and into their very own lives. Thank you for being so honest in your writing. Parenting isn’t for the faint of heart!

    Like

    • Thanks Pam. I most definitely need to be better about encouraging him when he does make good decisions. It’s one thing to pray, it’s another to speak life into them…I agree it will make a huge difference in their lives. Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts. I love that we can walk through these high school years together…I will need some help!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

