A Lifetime

“All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness;
so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.” (2 Tim. 3:16=17 NASB)

Well, I’m back home after two weeks visiting family. It was a good vacation and change from the everyday things we experience here. One of the highlights of my visit was sitting on the porch talking to my aunt. She’s been a Christian for a few years now and relatively new to the faith. She explained how one person told her to plug in anywhere and everywhere she could in order to learn. She does Bible study, Sunday school and church. She wants to learn everything she can. She can’t get enough of Jesus. Each day she spends time reading and praying and seeking Him. Her life isn’t easy, filled with trials, but that hasn’t swayed her. It just causes her to spend more time immersed in His Word.

Another high point of our trip came on the way home. We were able to stop and visit my former neighbor Carol. I’ve written about her before and know she was sent to me from God. Seeing her made me cry tears of joy and sorrow all at the same time. She has been so instrumental in my walk. She is a kind, merciful woman and completely solid in her faith. She has been the voice of wisdom in my life for several years walking with me through the difficulties I’ve endured. She has remained constant and faithful and sure of her God. I guess that comes from the many, many years she has walked hand in hand with her Savior.

While visiting Carol, she showed me her current Bible study. You see, Carol and I have done Bible studies together in the past. We’ve done Beth Moore Bible studies and those aren’t easy. When she lived next door, it was not uncommon for me to go to her house and see her Bible open with the study right next to it. She was a student of the Word and still is. She showed me what she’s working on now and told me she wished there was a Bible study group she could join there. She misses it. She can’t get enough of Jesus.

Both of these women have something in common, they want to know Jesus and know Him well. My aunt, a fairly new believer is spending her free time learning and growing and drawing closer to her Savior. Carol, who has walked with the Lord for many, many years, wants to know her Lord more. She isn’t satisfied. She wants to keep learning. I remember being like my aunt when I came to know Jesus. I read my Bible a few hours a day. I wanted to know what they were talking about in church. I wanted to know everything there was to know. And I want to be like Carol when I’m older. I don’t ever want to lose my desire to know Him more.

As our time together was ending, Carol told me she doesn’t know how many more years the Lord has for her. “I am 85,” she said. Based on her health, I think she has a ways to go. Regardless, I know my sweet, loving and kind friend Carol will spend whatever time the Lord gives her learning more about Him. Because even a lifetime is not even long enough to learn all there is to know about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

