God is Good

I saw a sign outside of a business that read “God is good”. I thought it was wonderful that the owners chose to speak of God. They didn’t have to say anything. But they obviously believe in God and chose to express their belief on their sign. Everyone driving by could see those words and ponder them. They are not necessarily deep, theological words. But they speak the truth. Most people would probably agree that God is, in fact, good. However, depending on the season, the meaning of those words change.

When I first read those words, they made me smile. I thought about the mountaintop experiences I have had where I lifted my hands and praised the God of heaven and earth. There was nothing that could convince me to disbelieve those words. Those times of pure elation make me want to yell as loud as I can “GOD IS GOOD”. But what if I’m not having a mountaintop experience? What if life is mediocre? What if life is hard? Do I still believe those words with the same conviction?

When life is mediocre, I do believe those words. I may not desire to shout them to the world. I may be quiet and unassuming, but those words still hold true in my heart. When the hard times come, then it is difficult to remember that God is indeed good. It’s during the storms of life when the waves threaten to do me in that I struggle with those words repeating them as if I’m trying to convince myself. God is good even when life is hard, but I don’t find myself praising Him and thanking Him for His goodness. Instead, I wonder. I wonder because I don’t think I should have to struggle. I wonder because my feelings are hurt. I wonder if He even sees me or loves me. In the depths of my heart, no one can take away what I know to be true. And the truth is…God is good.

5 thoughts on “God is Good

  1. Jonesingafter40 says:

    The other phrase I see and hear quite often is “God is good all the time.” So very true. No matter what is happening in our world, God is good. All the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

