The Least of These

This morning I was praying for a friend heading out on a mission’s trip this weekend. She told me a little of what she was to expect. She and her daughter were going to an extremely poor country to help with a vacation bible school. The children would be dropped off for the week. They will wear the same clothes every day because they only have one set. My friend was told that she would probably be leaving any clothes she was not wearing behind when she returned. The people there would appreciate such a gift. And so, she and her daughter are packing accordingly. The thing is, her daughter doesn’t want to leave her clothes there.

I was putting my own clothes away this morning when I was praying for my friend. I thought about how the people she would be ministering to would be grateful for my old clothes. You see, I went shopping recently. My Mom sent me some money for my birthday so I could shop. It’s been a while and my clothes were getting grungy. I had fun shopping and was thinking I should send my old clothes with my friend. Then it hit me. What if God asked me to give away my new clothes? Here I was thinking I’m generous to give away faded, stained clothes, but what if God asked for my new ones? Would I be willing to continue to wear my old clothes so someone else could have new ones?

It made me think of this scripture…”The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.'(Matthew 25:40 NIV)

Something to think about…

Photo courtesy of Wikipedia taken by Billy Hathorn

2 thoughts on “The Least of These

Leave a Reply

