Trusting Him

Ah, the lazy days of summer. There is no schedule to keep. Each day is filled with quiet simple activities. We read a lot, swim a lot and relax a lot. I honestly love summer. When summer first began the kids were having a hard time relaxing. They wanted something to do every day. They wanted to have friends over or meet friends somewhere for a play date. I suppose they still want that, but it seems they are easing into and even enjoying our summer siesta.

This kind of lifestyle is very easy to get used to. It’s easy being lazy. It’s easy doing whatever we want, whenever we want. That is of course as long as it’s freeJ This is the life we all want. It’s one filled with comfort and ease. There is no rushing. There is nothing weighing on us. It’s just easy. We want to live here forever. At least I do. But I know this will end. I know this season of peace and quiet will soon be replaced with hectic schedules, homework and activities. Soon we will be running in a thousand different directions again. But that’s okay too once we get used to it.

We don’t like change do we? We are a people who like things to stay the same regardless of the season. Once we get into our groove, we don’t like anything to move us. We like where we are. If we are busy, we want to stay there. Oh it’s not because it’s easy but because it’s familiar. And when life slows down, we want to stay there because we have become accustomed to it. A creature of habit is what we are. It takes an act of God to move us. We resist change and insist on the familiar. Stepping out in faith is scary. Changing things up is tricky. We don’t want change. We want everything to stay the same. Predictability makes us feel secure.

This week I’ve been struggling with something God has called me to do. I won’t give details but I will share it’s something out of my comfort zone. It requires an act of faith on my part. I have to trust the Lord in moving forward and I have no idea what the outcome will be. But I am sure; He wants me to take that step. It is not easy. It is scary. It may not turn out as I hope, but it’s not the outcome the Lord is looking at. It’s the obedience. He is waiting to see if I am secure enough in Him to step out even though it’s difficult. Although the outcome is a mystery, I will move ahead trusting Him.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” (Prov. 3:5-6 NIV)

Leave a Reply

