Bible Study

Today, I watched a session from the Bible study I am currently doing. Oh, how I have missed listening to Beth share her loved of the Good Book. She shares the truth God gives her in a way that not only entertains, but makes me want to dig deeper. As I sat there today, I realized that there are many, many people who don’t like doing Bible studies. They don’t like the homework. They don’t like sitting through the video sessions. It’s not what interests them. They may read their bible and devotionals, but the act of studying just doesn’t appeal to them. I am not one of those people. I love a good study. I love the challenge. I enjoy homework perhaps because I like to accomplish things. And as I sat here today watching the session, I glanced over to my bookshelf and saw a stack of Beth Moore studies I have completed. There’s a bunch of them sitting there unopened since the day I finished them.

I asked myself the question, am I really any different than I was before I went through each of those studies? Did they really change me in any manner, shape or form? If I opened one of those books right now, would I go back and remember anything the Lord was speaking to my heart at the time? I hope so. I think so. I like to think that all of the time I spent studying was not wasted.

This morning, as I brought the twins to VBS, my daughter asked her brother if he remembered yesterday’s verse. Being like me, she likes to get things done. It’s probably the competitiveness in both of us. We love the challenge of completing something. Their homework was to memorize a scripture and she did memorize it. Her brother… not so much. He hates memorizing anything. Getting him to memorize his multiplication tables was brutal for this home school Mom. So, memorizing scripture is not the boy’s strength, especially during summer vacation. It just cracks me up to see how different they are. Listening to this banter in the back seat made me think, does memorizing this scripture in order to get a prize or just a pat on the back really do anything to my daughter’s heart? Does it really mean anything? Will she remember any of it a month from now?

It’s funny how I asked the same question about the stack of completed workbooks. I would have to say yes on both counts. I would have to say yes because “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” (Heb. 4:12 NIV) Long after I thought I have forgotten, God brings to mind His word and it all comes back. Sometimes it comes in the form of encouragement. Often it comes in the form of conviction. Regardless of how it comes, it always sheds light into my heart and exposes my true motives. And it comes to lift me up when I’m feeling down.

I’m excited to keep studying. I have a feeling this is going to be a hard book for me to study, especially chapter 3. But I will endure because I know I am on this journey and with each study, He changes me. Maybe it won’t be a big change. But I believe, any change is worth the effort. Spending time in the Word is important. It doesn’t matter if you’re a Bible study nerd like me or someone who just enjoys reading and praying. The Lord will take His word and penetrate the hearts of His children with His truth! Amen!

Leave a Reply

