Not What I Expected

“For I know the plans I have for you, ‘declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” (Jer. 29:11 NASB)

We had a very restful weekend around my house. There were no appointments to keep, parties to attend or cleaning for company. We had decided we would not go anywhere or do anything but that it would be a weekend to simply relax. Our expectation was fulfilled as a storm rolled into Florida making it unappealing to go out in the weather. We were all happy to hang around the house doing whatever! We need that every once in a while. Sometimes I think I’d like to live in the relaxing moments all the time.

Last night my husband and I watched one of my favorite movies, “While You Were Sleeping”. That movie makes me laugh. There’s a line in that movie that’s repeated a couple of times that says, “Life doesn’t always turn out the way you expect.” Hmm. No I guess it doesn’t. In the movie, the main character begins the movie infatuated with one man and ends up marrying the man of her dreams. In the end, it didn’t turn out as she had hoped and dreamed. Instead, she ends up with more than she even expected. She ends up with a man who truly loves her. I love happy endings. Everyone’s happy and in love and the world is a better place…ahhh.

Tuesday came and the kids are back to school. The hubby is back to work. I’m back to my routine with a ho-hum. The relaxed, easygoing weekend has ended and life picks up where we left off. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could take a break from life whenever we wanted to? Wouldn’t it be cool to push the pause button so we could relax and become rejuvenated before we moved on? Unlike the movies, life isn’t like that. Our week doesn’t magically end with the loose ends neatly tied in a bow. Unfortunately, they are still there on Monday morning.

As much as I’d love to live in the tranquil moments of life, that’s not reality. And that’s okay with me. I love to relax but I don’t think it would have the same appeal if I did it all the time. The truth is, life isn’t lived in the easy times. It has many unexpected turns. But isn’t that what makes life interesting? I want so much to have ease and comfort but all of that is futile. It’s boring. It’s without reward. Life becomes meaningful when you invest in others regardless of how tiring it is. The whole purpose we are here is to minister in the name of Jesus. And as much as relaxing brings me pleasure, it honestly doesn’t compare to the complete joy I receive when I see God moving. It’s even better when He invites me to be a part of it.

Yes, I so enjoyed my weekend, but I honestly enjoy the everyday things God calls me to. My life is rarely easy or simple or without struggle. It is almost never what I expect. But it’s my life and I love it.

Thank you Lord for the times life is not what I expect it to be because I always have the hope You have something better on the horizon.

3 thoughts on “Not What I Expected

Leave a Reply

