Remember when…

“I will remember the deeds of the LORD; yes I will remember your miracles of long ago.” (Psalm 77:11 NIV)

The other day my son wanted to hear the story of why we named him Jonah. We’ve told him the story before, but he wanted to hear it again. So, I explained that when I was pregnant with him, Karoline was moving around a lot but he seemed to sleep a lot. She was kicking constantly while he quietly slumbered. We had wanted to name him Michael but my Mom didn’t want that name. So we named him Jonah which means “peace” and used Michael for his middle name. Since Jonah had been the peaceful one I was carrying around, the name seemed to match him perfectly.

Over the years I have noticed he seems to be a bit rebellious like Jonah of the Bible. He gets in trouble a lot more than the other two kids in the house. I would never describe him as compliant but I would say he is very curious. Over the years he has tried my patience more than a few times and has brought me to tears of frustration. But I love that boy with all my heart. He teaches me daily of my need for Jesus. The thing about this conversation that made me think was that Jonah wanted to remember. I think in all of his antics and punishments it makes him feel good when we talk about his name. It reminds him of the hope we have for him because of the name we chose.

The Father has taken great care in choosing our life events. They have unfolded just as He has determined. He has chosen us for a specific purpose. It’s easy to forget that. It’s easy to focus on our current trial or situation. We see only the bad without understanding the presence of God. We get caught up in the circumstances forgetting God has ordained them all. God has given us this amazing thing called memory. It is something we use to recall the works of our Father. It’s a blessing we are given so we can be reminded of past victories. It’s something meant to bring us comfort when we are unsure and peace when we are afraid. When we think back and remember, we are reminded that the One who calls us by name, has also redeemed us. He will also redeem our situation.

Sometimes we have to look back and remember in order to move forward. Sometimes we have to be reminded of God’s plan. Sometimes we have to refocus on the fact we are loved by a thoughtful God. He is writing our story and every once in a while we have to go back to the beginning and reread what has already been written. I love how God allows us to do that. I love how He uses our memories to move us forward.

My kids love hearing stories and looking at pictures from when they were little. They see where they have come from and recognize they will not be going back. They will continually grow. Sometimes we all need to look back and remember what it was like way back when. It’s important to see our progression and be encouraged by it. I am thankful God allows us to remember the good old days.

Leave a Reply

