Praising My Savior

We went to church this weekend to celebrate Easter. My church is large and the musicians are professionals. The worship experience is always well done. But no matter how good you are at something, if it isn’t ordained by the Spirit, it’s just music. I believe the worship team and musicians work hard all week preparing for weekend services. And part of that preparation is prayer. I know they spend time pleading with God to use the gifts they’ve been given. I know they seek to have Him glorified. I believe they want to be the best they can be for Jesus. And when He is present, it’s very apparent.

This weekend, our worship team and band were wonderful. The worship experience, in my opinion, was blessed by the Spirit. One of the singers began the service with a beautiful song. I was so enamored listening to the words and seeing this very talented singer being used by God to speak life into those who were listening. I was focused on her when my son tapped my arm and pointed. Down in front of the stage was a little girl dancing. As the singer sang her heart out, the little girl danced. She wasn’t professional. She hadn’t practiced. There were no rehearsals, she simply danced. It was beautiful to behold this little girl praising Jesus in her own way.

This weekend Thomas Kinkade passed away. He was called the “Painter of Light”. He used the talents God had given him to produce paintings that depicted peace and tranquility. I wonder if he could produce those because that’s how he felt resting in the arms of God. His paintings were his way of worshipping Jesus. He may not have been able to sing. He may not have been a good dancer or writer or preacher. But he could paint and he used that ability to spread the love of Christ. It has been reported that over 10 million people have paintings of his in their home. This is astounding, not because he was popular, but because he wanted so much to bring light into a dark world. This was his way of worshipping God.

This weekend, while being overwhelmed with the story of Easter, I realized we all have our own distinctive way of worshipping our Savior. No matter where you are in life, your worship is unique to you. It is between you and your Lord. Your worship is as unique as you are. I love that God made us all different. And I love that some can worship with music and song. Some can worship with dance. Some can write and some can paint. All of it is precious to God. It is meaningful because it’s an offering from our hearts. And I love that it doesn’t have to be perfect or rehearsed to be acceptable to Him. It simply has to be genuine.

“Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord, O my soul. I will praise the Lord all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.” (Psalm 146:1-2 NIV)

Leave a Reply

