More Time

A couple of weeks ago I was awakened in the middle of the night with the dreaded phone call. You know when the phone rings in the middle of the night it’s either it’s a wrong number or bad news. In my case it was bad news. My dad, who has COPD was rushed to the hospital because he was having trouble breathing. He wasn’t expected to make it through the night. After hearing those words from my sister, I waited for the next call. It could go either way, but things were not looking good for my dad. A year ago the doctor told him to get his affairs in order because this very thing would happen over and over until he was unable to come out of it. These are hard words to live with. The thing that bothered me was that I hadn’t seen him in over a year. I talk to him on the phone, but I hadn’t spent any time with him. As I lie there waiting for the next phone call, I thought about how I wished I had spent more time with him. I thought about how I had let the busyness of life get in the way of things more important. I wanted more time. Thankfully, my dad was stabilized and is doing as well as can be expected.

This event reminded me of this scripture…”Then the disciples went back to their homes, but Mary stood outside the tomb crying. As she wept, she bent over to look into the tomb and saw two angels in white, seated where Jesus’ body had been, one at the head and the other at the foot. They asked her ‘Woman, why are you crying?’ ‘They have taken my Lord away,’ she said ‘and I don’t know where they have put him.'” (John 20:10-13 NIV) Mary loved Jesus. She was in mourning because He was gone, or so she thought. She just wanted to see Him again. Her time with Him wasn’t long enough. And she wept. I don’t know that any amount of time would have been enough for Mary. But she knew that Jesus’ death would leave a tremendous void in her life.

It seems the theme of my life lately is to take time for the people who are important. The older I get, the more I realize that life is short. My dad is now in a nursing home getting the therapy he needs. And I was blessed to take the fly see him and surprise him. I feel better knowing I made the effort to see him while he was still alive. I don’t want to stand at his graveside saying “I wish I would have…” Instead I can say “I’m glad I did.” Life is so short. We have to carve out time from our busy schedules to spend time with those we love. I have felt that way about my kids and my husband. And now I feel that way about my dad. I plan to spend more time with him this summer. But for now, I’m really glad I was able spend even just a little time with him.

Leave a Reply

