Smile. God Loves You

This is something I posted a couple of years ago. I hope you like it.

I noticed a flower my daughter gave me had been moved this morning. She found it a couple of days ago while on a walk with her brother and she brought it home for me. It’s artificial, so it won’t die. She put it in the drawer of my jewelry box. When I saw it, I knew she had put it there. It was cute and thoughtful of her. I love her for that. But today, I noticed it was moved. It is now woven through a “happy birthday” sign that  a little girl figurine holds.  Now when I look at it, it looks like the little girl is holding up a bouquet of flowers. It’s cute! And definitely something my daughter would do. Every time I see that flower, I am now reminded of the love my daughter has for me.

Lately, I have heard story after story of friends and family that have huge problems. The struggles people are facing right now are mammoth. People are losing jobs, or at least part of their income. Others have terrible, sometimes fatal diseases they are fighting right now. Many are losing their homes. And relationships are just falling apart. It seems everyone I know is going through a fierce battle right now. Discouragement and disappointment surround us. Fear and frustration is how we live. Many times we wonder if God even knows we still exist. His answers are slow to come so we give up. We are worn out from the battle, so we just accept defeat. Life is hard for everyone right now.

I was reminded of a time a few years ago when I was struggling. I wondered if God even loved me. And if He did, I needed to hear it. I knew in my head that God loved me, but I wasn’t feeling it at all. So, I prayed a simple prayer. I asked God to tell me that He loved me. I didn’t know how, but I was so desperate to hear that from God, so I just prayed that simple prayer. The answer to that prayer came swiftly.

The first time God told me He loved me was when I was on my way home from the store that same day. I was driving along and noticed a church sign. I had driven by it a thousand times and noticed its messages changed every few seconds but I couldn’t understand them because they were written in Spanish. But on this day, I looked over at that sign and it read “God Loves You”. I was floored. I had never noticed that before. In all of the announcements, I had never paid attention because I couldn’t read it. But today, I could read those words. I knew that God was telling me that He loved me. I was good for the day. But then the second wave of love came a few hours later. I was driving my kids to stay with family for the weekend, and I looked in the sky because a skywriter was up there. I was patient as he made his smiley face out of smoke. Oh how cute. But then he started to write and when he finished, it said “God Loves You”. Are you serious God?? Twice in one day, he answered my prayer. My simple prayer that only took seconds to pray, God had answered twice now. Well, I’m not done yet. My husband and I were traveling for our weekend away that afternoon. As he drove and we talked, I looked out the window as we passed a tractor trailer. And written on the side it said…”God Loves You”.

Throughout that day, God reminded me time and time again that He loved me. I asked Him and He answered my prayer in the morning, at lunch time and in the afternoon. All day long He reminded me of His continuous, unfailing love for me. I had forgotten that story until this morning. But I remembered it this morning with fondness. Just like the flower my daughter left me, when I see it, it makes me smile. It makes me remember that I have not been forgotten, but that I am loved.

I encourage you today, if you are struggling, ask God to show His love for you. He will. If you know someone who is struggling, pray for them. But don’t just leave it at that, do something thoughtful for them today. Show them they are loved. Remind them that you are praying for them. Encourage them in the Lord. We all need that sometimes. We all want to be remembered. We all desire to feel loved. So, if God lays someone on your heart, step out and love someone in a practical way today!

“But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.” (Heb. 3:13 NIV)

5 thoughts on “Smile. God Loves You

  1. Jonesingafter40 says:

    Hi! I would like to pass on the Sunshine Award to you Lori! Yours is a ray of light and I love it. Details in today’s post. 🙂

    Like

  2. Gail Goretsky says:

    Lori- I like your writing! It is awesome….Steve sent me the link a long time ago but I just now checked it out…..Blessings to you and yours!
    Gail

    Like

Leave a Reply

