Transformed

“For we are God’s workmanship… ” (Eph. 2:10 NIV)

I have a sweet little dog. His name is Ollie and he thinks I’m the best thing ever. He follows me around all day long. If I am in the bedroom, he is there with me. If I am in the kitchen, he follows me there. Wherever I am, he wants to be there too. All day long I am the one he seeks and follows after. He loves me and honestly, he’s my baby. I put him on the bed when I’m in the bedroom because he might be too cold on the floor. He climbs on the couch with me while I watch television so I can rub his belly. He just loves me and since my kids are past the stage of needing me so much, it feels kind of nice. But there is one flaw with Ollie. When he gets mad when we leave him and so he messes in the house. So, when we have to leave him home alone, he goes in his cage.

Now Ollie used to love his cage. He found it to be a place of protection and safety. When we first got Ollie we had to put him in the cage when the neighbor kids came over. He would snap at the little boy from next door and rightly so because the little boy used to kick him. So, it was best for all parties concerned, especially Ollie, if he went in his cage. He was perfectly happy with this arrangement and gladly entered whenever he was instructed to. Lately however, Ollie has become somewhat stubborn in his demeanor. When we tell him to go into his cage he refuses. It’s not because he doesn’t understand, he simply doesn’t want to do what he’s told. He growls at the kids when they try to put him in there. We can’t even entice him in with a treat. He simply has decided he likes being out of his cage. And even though he adores me and listens for the most part, when it’s time for me to leave, he refuses to obey even me.

It’s funny the examples God uses to show us the truth about ourselves. I too am like Ollie. I want to follow Jesus wherever He leads. I want to obey and please my Master. I am so grateful for the blessings and the care He shows me. I love to spend time in His presence praising Him and seeking Him in prayer. I love all that goes with this relationship except when He calls me to do something I really don’t want to do. I have to be honest, God calls me to hard things on occasion and I don’t want to listen. I want to walk away. I want to disobey because I don’t want to humble myself. There are times I forget who’s King and I place my wants above God’s. And just like Ollie, I grumble when someone tries to gently correct me.

I love the Lord with all my heart and desire to please him. I want to be a follower of Christ in every sense of the word. But there are times I refuse God. He calls me to those things that are good for me. He desires for me to grow up in my faith so that I might resemble Him. Each time the Lord requires me to do something difficult; I’m learning to be less selfish. I’m learning to put my wants aside so they can be replaced with His will. So why do I refuse? Because I don’t think I need any improvement. I think I’m okay just the way I am. I can honestly say, I am thankful that God knows my needs more than I do. He sees the big picture and knows the end result. I simply need to be obedient. I will spend the rest of my life being transformed into the likeness of Christ because I will never be perfect this side of heaven.

Thank you Lord that you want me to be better tomorrow than I am today.

Leave a Reply

