I Love a Happy Ending

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28)

The last posting I made was about my teenager and his attitude. I posted about the realization I had come to that my prejudices and negative feelings had bled over to become his and I was convicted and ashamed. You know, I always wonder what my kids are going to remember about their growing up years when they are adults. I wonder if they view me as a mean mom with no mercy. Do they appreciate any of the lessons taught? Will they someday look at their lives and see that they have picked up my bad habits or will they cling to that which is good and right and true? I think about these things a lot and pray that my mistakes will be forgotten and my grace will be overwhelming to them. Most of all, and with all my heart, I want them to have a passion for Jesus. When all is said and done, that’s all that matters.

Last Thursday did not start out very well for me. I had been disgusted with my son and myself. The funny thing was, God would not let me stay there. He poured blessing upon blessing on our family that day. A burden that my husband and I had been praying about was lifted. God had shown favor to us. Another person gave us an unexpected gift, just because. It was a day where I couldn’t be sad if I tried because the love of God surrounded us. His presence was so apparent and so real and so welcomed. It was a day that started with frustration and ended in praise to the One who would not let me forget that He loves me. And when I lay my head on the pillow that night, I was overwhelmed with the sense that my Redeemer lives!

On Friday morning, I awoke refreshed and renewed and ready to take on the day. I had a talk with my teenager and we ironed some things out. He explained what happened and that he didn’t say what I though he said but that it was his younger brother that made the comment. I don’t know if that’s any better, but I’m glad to know the truth. We did talk about attitude and condescending tones. We also talked about what our home should be. I explained to him that every day his brother and sister enter a world that is very different from his. It is a world where they have to look for Jesus because He is not talked about there. We talked about a situation his brother is dealing with at school and the fact that when he comes home, he needs to be loved not pushed aside. When we finished our conversation, my son confessed that he didn’t realize his brother was dealing with a mean boy at school. And I am pleased to say that Nathan has been more accepting and patient with his brother. I knew in my heart he would because he has a tender and kind heart just like his dad.

I believe everything happens for a reason. I believe there is a lesson to be learned. And sometimes God uses the ugliness of our lives to make us more holy. I explained to my son that I want our home to be a place of refuge. I want it to be a place we look forward to gathering to at the end of the day. I want the smells of something good cooking in the kitchen and the giggles of laughter to fill our home. I want our family to be cheerleaders for each other, not people who tear each other apart. I want us to encourage and bless each other not fight and argue. I want my kids to grow up and be friends. And I want my husband to look forward to coming home after a hard day at work. Most of all, I want our family and our home to be something that pleases God. We will have our disputes. We will have our disagreements. We will have bad days. But when all is said and done, I want us to just love each other!

Leave a Reply

