Breakfast with Jesus

“Jesus said to them, ‘Come and have breakfast.’ None of the disciples ventured to ask Him ‘Who are You?’ knowing that it was the Lord.” (John 21:12)

Anyone who knows me knows that my favorite place is the beach. I love the beach and would love to live there someday. There have been times when we have stayed at the beach for vacation and my favorite time is in the morning. The east coast sunrise is something to behold. It’s so peaceful and quiet. The day is just beginning and the light show God puts on with the rising sun takes my breath away. As much as I love the mountains and enjoy the beauty of them, there is something about the beach that makes me get up early every morning just to witness the beginning of a new day. Each sunrise brings a different painting of colors that can only be created by a Magnificent God.

As I finished reading the book of John today I read about Jesus’ third appearance to the disciples. They had decided to go fishing. They didn’t know what else to do. For three years they had followed Christ but now they were at a loss for what to do. So they returned to the thing they knew, fishing. They had a rough morning not catching anything until a man on the shore announced they should throw the net on the other side of the boat. After casting their net, they caught and enormous amount of fish and John then figured out that Jesus was telling them to cast their nets. And as expected, Peter jumps out of the boat to swim because the boat couldn’t get him there fast enough. The remaining disciples came along after with the fish in tow. When they all arrived Jesus invited them to breakfast. I love it.

There was a day a few years ago when I just needed some time to myself. My husband agreed to watch the kids and I went to the beach by myself. I went early and there was plenty of room on the beach to be alone. I took my Bible and for a couple of hours just sat there and read and prayed. I was completely engrossed in the Word and in my prayers. I felt God’s presence in a mighty way. It was a time for me to refocus on Him and seek His direction for my life. What I didn’t realize was that all around me, the beach had gotten crowded. When I finally became aware of my surroundings, I noticed that the beach was full of kids, their parents, bike riders and fishermen. I was so focused on the Lord and our time together; I hadn’t noticed what was going on around me. I’m not generally that oblivious, but on this particular day, God had my undivided attention.

This scripture reminded me of that day on the beach. I knew I needed to be alone with the Lord without any distractions. Just like the disciples, I was searching for some direction. I needed answers. I needed to spend time with Jesus. As I read this chapter this morning I thought about how awesome it must have been for them to just sit with Jesus and share a meal. I imagined each one taking turns sharing the events of their lives. And then I imagine them, one at a time taking a walk with Jesus and listening to Him share. The fact that Jesus would come and spend time with them to share His vision for their lives is astounding to me.

I love to spend time with the Lord first thing in the morning. My favorite time is when everyone is still asleep and the house is quiet. There is no noise to distract me, just the quiet of the morning as a new day breaks. Sometimes, I have the best talks with God and I feel His presence and other times I am just there out of habit. Either way, I feel better knowing that I have started my day with the Lord. This is where he often talks to me and when I am most apt to listen. It is in the quiet when I am focused on Him that I can best hear Him speak. It is when I am fresh and my day has yet to begin that I am encouraged and made ready for my day. There is nothing better than having breakfast with Jesus!

Leave a Reply

