200 Blogs…Wow!!

Today marks my 200th blog. For me, that’s a milestone. A year and a half ago I started writing my thoughts and prayers on this blog for anyone and everyone to read. It’s a place that I’ve shared my heartache, disappointment with God and misunderstanding of what He was doing in my life. It has also been a place to celebrate victories in the Lord and share the many, many lessons He has taught me. It has been a place just to speak honestly and openly about how I was feeling. And from the many comments I have received, it seems as though everyone who reads this blog has been where I have been and felt as I have felt at some point along the way. It has blessed me to know that I am not alone and the God is not finished with me. My prayer for this blog has been to honor God and share what He has been so gracious to teach me. I have prayed for God to allow me to encourage others along the way and inspire them to draw closer to Him. And in return, I have received the blessing of being encouraged myself.

I do have to tell you the story about how I started blogging though. I had written a story about a walk I took as a note on my facebook page. A friend from long ago read it and told me I should write more. She is someone I knew from work. I have never actually met her in person but used to talk to her on the phone for my job almost 20 years ago. You know you’re getting old when you start talking in decades. Anyway, after I left that job, we kept in touch a bit through emails. But one day she showed up on facebook at the insistence of her granddaughter. That was about two years ago, I think. Anyways, we have said “Hi” here and there and wished each other “Happy Birthday” and caught up. One day, I wrote this note and she responded by telling me that I was a good writer. Now I’m a blogger with a desire to write an actual book.

So today, on my 200th blog I’d like to say that you never know how your encouragement toward someone else will inspire. God has called us to encourage each other and lift each other up. We are to inspire and bless others with our words. My friend Pam did that for me. She opened the door for God to work and move in my life as never before. God used her simple words as a means to light a fire in me. I love to share what God is doing in my life and am so overwhelmed that others even want to read about it. I am surprised when someone sees me and tells me they like reading my blog. I am so thankful for the opportunity to share and truthfully humbled that anyone wants to read. The fact that God can use a simple housewife and mother of three is a miracle in and of itself. But the fact that He lets me share is a blessing. Thanks Pam!!

“Therefore encourage one another, and build up one another, just as you also are doing.” (1 Thes. 5:11)

10 thoughts on “200 Blogs…Wow!!

  1. I love reading your blogs! I think we are very similar, yet you are more mature in your faith and it’s an inspiration. I’ve wanted to write a book since I was little. I’ve started then it gets lost and I forget about it. Maybe in my retirement years…when things settle down. Lol. I guess I’m waiting for that quiet mountain home where I can wake up in my jammies, walk out to the patio with my coffee and write at my leisure. I know that’s a dream, but who knows. It will happen when it’s suppose to. Blessings to you my blog friend 🙂

    http://angnic.wordpress.com

    Like

    • You have been a great encouragement to me. I have loved reading your blogs and the honesty you share. Thanks for your continued support and encouragement friend!

      Like

  2. Encouraging post about encouragement. I definitely connect with the idea that sharing with others helps us realize we are not alone on this journey. Looking forward to reading more.

    Grace and peace,

    Tony

    Like

  3. Pam says:

    Lori…..I was catching up on your blog when I read this. I am so happy to know you (even though we have never met). I feel blessed that we were long distance co-workers. You are a blessing to me and many others! You are most welcome for the encouragement. Thank you for sharing your faith and I know you will write a book someday!…………..Pam

    Like

Leave a Reply

