Too Much

I know I haven’t been writing a lot. Responsibilities and time just haven’t been on my side it seems. I like to have quiet and listen to God before I write and when I ask He always lays something on my heart to share. But lately, I find my time with Him is rushed and often it seems that I am stealing away at any given opportunity just to spend some quiet time with Him. I hate when life gets the better of me and takes me away from the things I desire most in my heart.

So, I’m sitting down today just to share some thoughts. It’s nothing deep and probably not even inspiring. They are just the things I have been thinking about lately. One thought I had while having a garage sale this weekend is that we have so much stuff in our lives. We have so many clothes, gadgets, books and trinkets. We have an abundance of things and yet we still complain that life is hard. We still desire more. We want what we don’t have. I was thinking how all this stuff gets in the way because it takes me away from the things I need to be doing. It takes time to care for all of these things in our lives. The more we have, the more we have to take care of. So, as I looked out on all that stuff we were getting rid of, it made me think of how blessed I am. I certainly have more than I need. And yet it never seems to be enough.

“To whom much is given, much is required.” This scripture has taken a different slant this weekend. We all know that when God gives us spiritual gifts, they are for His purpose and use. And even when we have a lot of worldly possessions, they are for His use and purpose. But I wonder if this scripture is a warning that the more you have, the more you have to do to maintain it. The more you have, the more time you will spend taking care of it. The more you have, the less time you will have for the important things in life. I don’t know, maybe it’s just me. And maybe I’m taking these words out of context. This is simply what I was thinking about this morning.

Sometimes, I feel like I can’t keep up with all of my obligations. Perhaps, I should rethink those obligations. I should sift through them and seek God. I wonder of these obligations are keeping me from the One who has a plan and a purpose for me. I wonder if I can’t do the very things God has called me to because my life is full of stuff that needs my attention. It’s something to think about. Hopefully, I will find the time to sit and mull this over this week. Maybe, I’m just going to have to put aside the things that are taking over in my life and focus on the Lord. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

