Pure in Heart

While getting myself a glass of water today, I noticed the space between the fridge and the cabinet. There is about a 2 inch gap there and I noticed it because, well, it was dirty. The floor was covered with food particles and who knows what else. The dog was sniffing around there and that’s how it caught my attention. It is rather gross and honestly, embarrassing. I probably wouldn’t have noticed it for another week if it weren’t for the dog. Thanks Ollie. He is the best dog we’ve ever hadJ That yuck has been building up for a while. I’m sure there was a time in the past when I pulled out the fridge so I could clean it. But it’s obviously been a while. It’s a lot of work to clean out that nasty little area. And so, it collects anything and everything until I take the opportunity to cleanse it.

I thought there must be a spiritual lesson here. Certainly, the Lord brought this to my attention for another reason other than cleanliness. Surely, there is a higher purpose here. Is God just showing me what a terrible housekeeper I am? Of course not, there is a something to be learned here. So I started thinking about my heart. Are there dark, dirty, disgusting areas in my heart? Are there places I never invite the Lord in? Is my outward appearance an honest reflection of what is going on in my heart? Hmmm. I guess these are questions we can all ask ourselves.

I read the Beatitudes today…

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.

Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. (Love that one!)

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called sons of God.

Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

(Matt. 5:3-10)

And there it is…”blessed are the pure in heart”. Think about it. Do we have pure hearts? Are our motives pure? Pure means; not dirty or polluted, not mixed with anything, innocent or free from evil, as defined in the Scholastic Children’s Dictionary. (Sorry, it’s the only dictionary close by right now.) God is so pure and holy that He cannot be seen clearly through dirt covered glasses. Our hearts have to be cleansed in order to see Him.

I was reminded today that I need to come before the Lord confessing the things that He wants out of my heart. Whether it be unforgiveness, or bitterness. Whether it be gossip or slander. Whether it be envy or jealousy. All of these things cause my heart to be impure. And so they need to be confessed and forgiven. Then I will see God. Then I will behold His majesty. Then I will recognize His work. God wants to have a relationship with me and you. But we are limiting His ability to work in our lives when we refuse to confess our sins and be cleansed.

So, my spiritual lesson for today is not to let the dirt build up in our hearts. A daily cleansing is in order. After all, I don’t want the enemy sniffing around looking for something to devour.

2 thoughts on “Pure in Heart

Leave a Reply

