This is the Day

“This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24)

When I awoke this morning, this was the scripture on my mind. The Lord was telling me that He made this day. He also reminded me that He makes each and every day. Each day is new and without blemish. Each circumstance is ordained by Him. He gives me a fresh day that starts new. What am I going to do with it? Am I going to grumble about all that has to be accomplished or am I going to rejoice? Am I going to walk around with a rotten attitude over one little flaw in my day, or am I going to count it all joy? This morning God reminded me that today is a gift from Him. It is not meant to frustrate or irritate me. I am to rejoice in it.

This week I really started thinking about how time passes so quickly. It goes so fast and I often wish it would slow down. I think sending my kids off to school each day has really had more of an effect on me than I’d like to admit. I know our relationships have changed. I am no longer responsible to teach them all day and then switch to “MOM mode” to complete all that needs to be completed. We have real discussions now. I hear about their friends. I listen as they tell me stories about their day. I get to have a glimpse into their lives that before now, I didn’t really have. At the same time, it makes me realize how fast they are growing. It makes me aware that time passes so quickly. It makes me understand that once a day is gone, we can never get it back. It’s gone forever.

So, I began to think about my attitude. I thought about the days that were wasted being frustrated or angry at someone. I thought about the days I spent listening to the enemy defeat me before I even started my day. I thought about the time I spent whining and complaining about whatever. And I realized that sometimes, I lose focus. I forget to wake up with the attitude that it is a new day with new experiences waiting to be had. I don’t look at the day with a sense of excitement. I look at it as if it’s just something I need to get through. This really convicted me today. I need to change my outlook.

Today, I decided, this is the day the Lord has made. He has made this day only once. Everything that happens is from Him. I choose today to live for today. I choose today to enjoy my day. I choose today to be stress free and joyful. I choose to have a positive outlook today. For this is the day the Lord has made!

Leave a Reply

