All Things

“I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” (Phil. 4:13)

I wasn’t going to post anything today, but this scripture came up today and prompted me to write. Many of us are walking the road less desired lately. But I was encouraged by this scripture today. The path to healing is a long, often bumpy one. It takes us places we don’t desire to go. It requires something of us we didn’t know we had. It often wearies us in the process. But if the end result is healing, then we must go forward, doubts and all.

The healing I’m talking about, can be applied to anything. Some are dealing with physical ailments. Others are working through emotional wounds. Still others have financial woes they can not seem to solve. And finally there are those whose spiritual well being is under attack. All of these areas of our lives need healing. All of these areas are not complete until we allow the Healer to come in and do His work. It all starts with a diagnosis. We either get bad news from the doctor, our accountant, our therapist or the Holy Spirit. We realize we are sick and we need healing. If you are like me, you don’t want what lies ahead. You know the pain involved. But we must endure the pain to receive healing. We must clean the damaged part in order to remove the reason we are sick in the first place. Then the Healer can bind us up. He can do His work to make us complete again.

There have been so many times in my life when I have felt angry because I didn’t want to endure what I knew I had to do. I didn’t want to face it. I wanted to run. But God is just showing me that if He leads me there, He will bring me through it. If He is my God, then He will give me the strength to endure it. He never allows anything into our lives just to make life difficult for us. We have our perception of how our lives are to be. We want easy lives with no trials. But I am realizing that with every trial, there is an opportunity for God to heal. He sometimes hands us over to our fears to allow us to see we don’t need to be afraid. He is there guiding us through. He sets before us the very thing we thought we could never endure so that we can see His strength. Amazing!!

We want instant healing. We want God to reach down and heal us. He certainly can. He is Almighty. But what would be the use in that. He would give up valuable time with us. We would not draw close to Him. We wouldn’t have to rely on Him. He desires a relationship with us. He wants us to depend on Him for strength. He wants us to share our most intimate hurts with Him so He can love us through them. “…God causes all things to work together for good…” (Romans 8:28) In the end, it’s all good. In the end, we have endured. In the end we have completed what was set before us. But the whole purpose is for healing. It is all for His glory and for our gain. And in the process, we have drawn close to the Healer in a way we never would have before. We have seen yet another facet of God we never experienced before. We have become a little more like Christ. Know that our trials are not without purpose. God has a plan. And without a doubt, we can trust Him in “all things”.

2 thoughts on “All Things

  1. Steve says:

    The key is that we have to love God enough, trust him enough, to be willing to follow him through the painful process of the healing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

