Every Morning

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” (Lam. 3:22-23)

This is the scripture that came to mind this morning at 5 a.m. Yes, the Lord has been waking me up early these days to spend time with Him. I was thinking of how Beth Moore always says in her studies that getting up and spending time with the Lord first thing is important. And she always gives the above scripture. Well, I opened my study today, and behold, this is what Beth was talking about. The Lord put it on my heart, and Beth reaffirmed it. So here I am, writing my blog at 7:15 a.m. on a Saturday morning.

I do love my morning time with God. It is quiet and still. And I figure, He has something to say to me and he wants my attention. As the day progresses, I have all kinds of distractions. The kids are making noise, the phone is ringing and everyone seems to need something when I want it to be quiet. To remedy this, the Lord has been getting me up early. I guess He wants my undivided attention. I must say, my day goes much better when I’ve taken time with Him.

People ask me if I take time with God every day. And yes I make a strong effort to. I desire to hear from Him. He desires to spend time with me. It’s not hard for me to take time every morning with Him. I look forward to it. It’s just God and me. I get Him all to myself. My love language is quality time. So, the fact that God wants to spend time with just me every day makes me feel loved. The fact that He has something to say to me makes me feel special. The fact that He desires to direct my day makes me feel safe. He wants me to know Him and how can I refuse. After all, I am nothing without Him. All that I have and all that I am is because of the Lord.

So, take time with the Lord every morning. Start your day with Him, you won’t be sorry. Some people say they aren’t morning people. Well, neither am I. But spending time with God before anyone else is awake brings me joy. Sometimes I’m really tired and can’t think, but I am there and He comes. There are times I’m afraid of what the day holds, but He calms my fears. I feel as though I can do anything because we have spent time together. Our days are busy and at times overwhelming. But if we take our time with Him, we can be victorious.

This is not a really deep devotional today. It’s just a little reminder that God laid on my heart. It reminded me to start and end my days with Him and He will take care of everything in between. “I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.” (Psalm 4:8)

2 thoughts on “Every Morning

Leave a Reply

