Change is Good??

“But I tell you the truth: It is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Counselor will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you.” (John 16:7 NIV)

I don’t like change. It stresses me out. I don’t like surprises. They give me anxiety. And yet I find myself again in a season of change. I find myself wishing things could stay the same, but they cannot. I just wish my life would remain untouched, untainted, unmoved. I don’t like to readjust. I mean, I have worked very hard to get things just the way I like them. “If it works, just leave it alone” is my motto!

However, God likes to mix things up, doesn’t He? As soon as I am comfortable, plugging along as usual…bam…God decides to throw a curve ball. I was thinking today about all of the people that have come in and out of my life. Some have stayed longer than others. And some will undoubtedly be life long friends. Some have left, only to reappear later in life. But there are those family members and friends who are no longer here with me. They have moved on to whatever God has for them. There is an empty space where they belong.

Today, I was reminded of the scripture in John where Jesus reappeared after His death. Don’t you know that the disciples were stressing out over His death? They had so much anxiety about being left alone. I mean, walking daily with the Son of God was something they would never have again. Ahead lie trials and persecution and they were alone…or so they thought.

They were never alone. Jesus made provision for them. But that provision could not appear unless Jesus left. That was the key, Jesus had to be replaced. He had to go be with the Father to make room for the Holy Spirit. It’s the same in our lives. We hold on to those things and people we want to stay close. We need them, or so we think. But God always has a plan. If  He removes someone from our lives, He has a suitable replacement. He has someone that will fill that emptiness. He has the perfect person to come along side and pick up where the former left off. And what I have found, is that the one God chooses usually adds so much more to my life. Certainly, I could never forget the people who have meant so much to me. I will always have the memories. And over time, He will provide opportunities to make new memories.  But, God is about moving us forward. And sometimes, that means change.

I can’t say that I will ever be comfortable with change. I will probably always resist it. I will rarely welcome it.  But when I read this scripture, I am reminded that not all change is bad. Sometimes, much to my dismay, change is good.

Leave a Reply

